Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

BookishThoughts1

Sometimes, you read a book, and it is just full of all the things you love in a book.

favourtie-things

Here’s a list of all my favourite things:

Short non-chapter-ish format

As seen in: Everything Everything, The Adoration of Jenna Fox

I’m not sure exactly how to describe this format, but if you’ve read the books above, you’ll know what I’m talking about…those books that are not made up of chapters, but of snippets. Random thoughts, short moments…I just LOVE a book that does this.

Reincarnated/Fated love

As seen in: Spellbound, The Next Together

There’s just something I really love about the whole reincarnated thing, where two characters fall in love over and over only to get horribly separated and have to relive the whole thing again.

News articles/Blog posts/etc

As seen in: Vanishing Girls, The Next Together

Don’t know why, but I always love it when the book is full of news paper articles, or blog posts, or police reports, or the like. I just find it really interesting.

General Weirdness

As seen in: Magonia, The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava lavender

When things are weird, and don’t make a brilliant amount of sense, I just love it!

A good, healthy does of ‘what the heck is going on here?’ is exactly what we all need sometimes.

WhatsGoingOnhere

Amnesia

As seen in: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, The Adoration of Jenna Fox

Where the main character has forgotten things that need remembering. Whether the memories are gradually brought to light throughout the book, or if the character just has to learn to cope with knowing nothing, I very much enjoy forgetfulness.

SCIENCE! And Nerds/smart people

As seen in: The Last Time We Say Goodbye, The Next Together

Smart people are the greatest. Especially when they also love maths 🙂
I like maths.

get-in-losers-were-going-to-do-science

Stories told in Flashbacks

As seen in: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

I absolutely LOVE the flashback thing. Where there’s a story happening in the present, and there’s one happening in the past. Love it.


So, those are my favourite things. What are yours? Do you agree with anything on this list? Do you disagree? Let me know.

Also, if you have any recs you’d like to give me of books containing any of these things. Let’s here ’em.