Beautiful People is this thing hosted by Cait at Paper Fury and Sky at Further Up and Further In and basically questions about fictional people get asked, these questions get answered, and it’s all very fun.

This month’s theme: Authors (who are, funnily enough, not fictional people, but I’m sure we can all manage this one time, because, let’s face it, authors are beautiful, too).

1. How many years have you been writing? When did you officially consider yourself a ‘writer’?

I have no idea…I started writing in school, assignments for English, stuff like that, and I realised I really enjoyed it.

2. How/why did you start writing?

As I said in the last answer, I mainly started because of English at school. And because I loved it, I wrote outside of school as well, and kept it up after I finished.

3. What’s your favourite part of writing?

The stories. When you’re reading, you have no control over what happens to the characters, but when you’re writing, you get to decide what happens. What you think should happen does happen. I love it.

4. What’s your biggest writing struggle?

Writing regularly. Finishing things. Planning.

The only things I’m really good at are the basic story ideas and the characters. Everything else is hard.

5. Do you write best at night or day?

I dunno. Probably night. I don’t get time to write often, so I haven’t had a chance to compare…I’m curious now.

I guess I just write best when I have a large chunk of time where I have nothing else to do. I seem to be less productive when I’m using it to procrastinate.

6. What does your writing space look like? (Feel free to show us pictures!)

I don’t really have a writing space. Mostly I just sit on my bed with my laptop and a notebook and several pens of different colours.

Notebook

(You can’t really see it in the picture…but the pen that looks dark blue is actually purple, and the writing in the notebook is also purple.

7. How long does it typically take you to write a complete draft?

Haven’t completed one yet, so I’ll have to get back to you.

8. How many projects do you work on at once?

I try to focus on one at a time (I really do)…but sometimes I’ll get inspiration for something else, so I’ll go work on that until the inspiration fades.

9. Do you prefer writing happy endings, sad ones, or somewhere in between?

I’m definitely a fan of the somewhere in between. While I haven’t finished any drafts, I know how each and every one of the stories in my head are supposed to end.

I wouldn’t call any of them overly happy…but they’re definitely not sad.

A lot of people tend to die, though…

10. List a few authors who’ve influenced your writing journey.

I don’t think any have, specifically. I know I get some inspiration from books/TV shows, but no authors pop out at me as being specifically influential…

11. Do you let people read your writing? Why or why not?

Yes and no. I don’t really use it anymore (because I don’t write often enough), but I used to post stories on fictionpress, which is like wattpad and all them. I have, like, one or two chapters for a few stories up, but I never really continued them.

They were a few years ago, but I wouldn’t mind picking up those stories again.

Otherwise, while I do tell people about my stories, nobody actually reads them. I don’t plan on letting people see them until I have at least got first draft for it.

12. What’s your ultimate writing goal or dream?

At the moment, just to finish something. For NaNoWriMo I started a book that I’m planning to make a trilogy, and if I finish that I will be very proud of myself.

I don’t care if I ever get published…at the moment, I just want to finish something.

13. If you didn’t write, what would you want to do?

Read, which I do anyway.
Blog, which I do anyway.
Teach, which I do anyway.

I’ve never really thought of writing as being anymore than a hobby.

14. Do you have a book you’d like to write one day but don’t feel you’re ready to attempt it yet?

Yes, actually.

I have fragments of the thing written down, I always have fragments, but I don’t really want to start actually writing it until I’m sure I can actually write the whole thing.

15. Which story has your heart and won’t let go?

At the moment, definitely my NaNoWriMo story, Witch Hunter. I just love it so much and I would love for it to exist in its entirety so that others can read it. Even if it’s just family and friends that do.


Ok, that’s it. Did you participate in Beautiful People this month? Any works in progress you want to tell me about? Let me know 🙂

