, , ,


Author: Pittacus Lore

Series: Lorien Legacies

Release Date: 27th August, 2014 (Aus)

How I got this book: Netgalley


Five’s Legacy tells the story of Five’s early years on Earth when he was just a young teen on the run, discovering his abilities and making the wrong kind of friends.

Return to Paradise picks up in the aftermath of the Mog attack on Ohio and follows Mark James as he struggles between returning to a normal life and helping John Smith and the others.

Five’s Betrayal is the exhilarating continuation of Five’s story, in which he joins the Mogadorian ranks and must demonstrate his allegiance to them by helping to destroy the other Lorien survivors.

You know the truth about the Mogadorians’ invasion of Earth and the Garde who will do anything to defeat them—yet there is still so much to learn. The stories in Hidden Enemy will help you get the answers you seek, but they will not help you stop the coming war. Only the Garde can save our planet

I love extras books. I love reading backstories, and alternate viewpoints and pretty much all the things that usually happen in novellas attached to series.
This book is no exception.
This review is going to be split into sections – 1 for each novella.

WARNING: This review contains spoilers for the Lorien Legacies series, up to (and including) The Fall of Five.

Five’s Legacy:

I hate Five. I will happily say that, especially after the events of Fall of Five. I saw it coming, and I will probably forever hate him.
That being said, I loved his backstory. The story of how he came to join the Mogadorians, and why.

Of course, right from the beginning of his life on earth, Five is a bit of a jerk. He spends the entire novella complaining about what he’s missed out on, how everyone has wronged him, while at the same time he is desperate not to be alone.
But what’s great about this is that even though Five is arguably one of the most annoying characters in the world, I still enjoyed reading his story from his viewpoint.

That doesn’t happen often.

Return to Paradise:

This story overlaps a little more obviously with the actual series, in particular The Power of Six. We get to follow Mark James, who was a jerk to John (Number Four) while he was living in Paradise, Ohio, and stopped being a jerk when he was almost killed by aliens.

And, of course, we get to see Sarah in this story as well.

I very much enjoyed this. It was interesting to see things from Mark’s POV, and it was also good to see what had been going on while Four, Six and Sam were off doing other stuff.

Five’s Betrayal:

And here we return to Five’s POV. He’s still a jerk. He’s still working for the Mogadorians, and all he has to do now is prove his loyalty.

Of course, to do this, he has to kill Nine (who is currently being held captive).

Now, reading this, we know that Nine is going to be fine. We know that John finds him (by chance) and they escape. The horrible part is not knowing what Five will do, because there are some characters there who we haven’t met in the main series.

And I still enjoyed it. I don’t know how, because I really, really, do not like Five. He’s a selfish jerk who will only do something if he can see the direct benefit to himself. And yet, I still enjoyed seeing things from his POV. It’s so weird.

Final Thoughts:

What’s great about these stories (and all stories like these) is that, while you know ultimately what happens, you don’t know the finer details, which makes the stories just as interesting as if you don’t know what’s going to happen.

And now I need to reread the series to prepare for The Revenge of Seven.

(NOTE: There were excerpts from the next Lost Files novellas at the end of this book, but I did not read them. I usually make a point to not read excerpts).