Tags

,

Author: Lucy Saxon

Synopsis: Catherine Hunter is the daughter of a senior government official on the island of Anglya. She’s one of the privileged – she has luxurious clothes, plenty to eat, and is protected from the Collections which have ravaged families throughout the land. But Catherine longs to escape the confines of her life, before her dad can marry her off to a government brat and trap her forever.

So Catherine becomes Cat, pretends to be a kid escaping the Collections, and stows away on the skyship Stormdancer. As they leave Anglya behind and brave the storms that fill the skies around the islands of Tellus, Cat’s world becomes more turbulent than she could ever have imagined, and dangerous secrets unravel her old life once and for all…

How I got this book: Borrowed from eLibrary (ebook)

My Thoughts:

I don’t know how to accurately describe my feelings for this book without giving everything away…this book had such potential: an amazing cover, a great story, but honestly, I finished the book and the only real thing I was feeling was…disappointed.

Now, I didn’t read the blurb before reading this book, and I’m glad I didn’t, because it’s one of those useless blurbs (I’ve read it now) that gives a completely false impression of what the story’s about. I mean, yes, she does escape her home and stows away on skyship, but that’s less than half the story.

Of course, if the blurb said any more, I probably would’ve accused it of being spoiler-ish…I never like blurbs.

That all being said, I did enjoy the beginning of this book. It started well, with the running away and pretending to be a boy, and life on the skyship, that was all good. Unfortunately, that lasted for less than 200 pages, when suddenly the entire story does this massive turn around and becomes about something completely different.

And that was fine. It wasn’t an entirely unexpected turn around, and it was still a good story, but it could have been done a lot better in my opinion. It’s hard to say without spoiling things, but it was still good enough…until I got to the last few chapters. That was when the real disappointment set in.

Final Opinion:

All in all, it was a great story, but it had a disappointing ending.

